fbpx

CS-Lab Support Forum for CNC Community

Help to run this brand-new forum and stay with us.
Ask your questions, we are here to help! 

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

simCNC feature ideas

Page 1 of 3Next

Good evening!

I am not sure if this is the right place or mode to bring forward my ideas, but I am trying my luck...
As you know I am relatively new to simCNC and still adjusting the software to my needs. Here are some points which I think will make the software even greater:

1. Tool path view
    1. Default zoom to workpiece rather than whole machine
    2. Can it be controlled via Python? 
i.e. a button to change the view to one of the preset values or completely free positioning of the camera?
  2. On-Screen Keyboard specific to the clicked field to enable use of touch screens without an external keyboard
  3. Map drive alert to motion kits rather than axis
My machine has two drives for X and I can only map one alarm input
  4. Make air seal / spindle pressurization a function in the configuration
    including a delayed switch-off
I have adjusted my M3/M4 macros, but when running the spindle from GUI this themes to not use the macros but triggers the spindle internally

5. An hour meter separately tracking: controller hours, GCode execution, spindle time
    Would be good to use it for lubrication or tracking maintenance intervals

6. Min/max position variable for loaded GCode
  7. Based on 6: a „way to go“ variable when running GCode,
    showing how much more distance will still be traveled

8. Enable/Disable all Softlimits via button
    Currently only possible via CheckBox.

9. Progress bar flexible denominator
    Allow the increments to be shown to be adjusted. I am trying to display spindle load in the GUI, min/max can be adjusted but the increments are quite large when showing an analog 0-10v signal.

The following points are some things I noticed not functioning as expected (W10 22H2 built 19045.2965 with simCNC 3.5 beta 4)